Skip to main content

View Post [edit]

Poster: Dave Davis Date: Mar 28, 2019 9:00pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

This is a very fun read as Deadheads take control of the situation

http://www.gratefulseconds.com/2019/03/the-jerry-garcia-fans-strike-back.html

Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Mar 29, 2019 8:43am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

Ha! The author of the second letter IS one of us!!

Great work...

(not to offer any sympathy to the original review, but by about 77-78, just as "disco DEAD" broke on the scene, I can say that the sentiment expressed was what I often encountered on campus at Cal, as I've said many times...I would be outed as a DEAD head, and be regaled w how much I was missing ignoring the likes of E Costello, THeads, and the Ramones...you'd think it wouldn't have been true in the Bay Area, but by that time, we really were a minority)

Reply [edit]

Poster: Dave Davis Date: Mar 29, 2019 9:53am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

What's funny, is that the Buffalo State Spectrum had been writing glowing reviews of the Dead starting with the 1967 Toronto shows. College newspaper articles about the Dead are like 98% glowing positive, so this dude is angry there arent more punk shows at his college. November 1977 New York State Jerry is like the best I ever heard him, maybe better than May 1977

Reply [edit]

Poster: Diamondhead Date: Mar 29, 2019 10:08am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

Yeah I remember all that. Out with the old, in with the new.I was up there 78-80. Even though I was Deadhead for life, I saw a lot of those acts because I was still interested in the new. At time there was still room for all comers. Btw, Elvis at the BCC was awesome. 45 maybe 50 minute show and you walked out wanting to hit someone. :) I think Greg Kihn opened. Member him?

Reply [edit]

Poster: Dave Davis Date: Mar 29, 2019 11:18am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

Saw jerry 22 times in 1979 but still found time to see The Ramones and Reconstruction the same day in June and the Dead Kennedys same week as Oakland Auditorium shows in August

That was the summer KSAN Summer in the City had free shows at lunch like Jefferson Starship, Ramones and Greg Kihn (naked eye diamondhead!)

Reply [edit]

Poster: Diamondhead Date: Mar 29, 2019 12:06pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

That sounds amazing. That's about the time the Oakland Aud came online. I went to the first Dead shows there but I seem to remember Bob Marley and Blondie there too. Details are hazy but Marley was transformational. Can you imagine how expensive that all might be now? Another indication that civilization is going downhill. :)

Edit: Hell, I started following the rabbit and lo, if you liked the man, Bill Graham taped the sucker.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r55iXZ6btJ8


This post was modified by Diamondhead on 2019-03-29 19:06:52

Reply [edit]

Poster: Dave Davis Date: Mar 29, 2019 2:18pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

I also saw the Smiths at Oakland Auditorium but that was a few years later saw those 2 August shows in 1979 and 12 New Years run shows between 1980-1982

Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Mar 30, 2019 7:12am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

I first saw Brent w the boys in August of 79 at Oak...that was the month I left the Bay Area. Geezz, 40 yrs ago.

Now I am just a fat old hippy.

Reply [edit]

Poster: ColdRain108 Date: Mar 29, 2019 4:22pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

I was a regular at the Mabuhay Gardens in SFO, saw the DK's many times. Then I'd walk across the street to the Stone and see Cipollina/Gravenites. The punk kids were trying to sell acid to the grizzled Deadheads waiting outside The Stone. That got a big laugh.

Is there any music that Jerry was critical of? I've heard him say things like "all form, no substance" about some group, but I don't think he ever called anyone out as "sucking". Lots of others really despised the GD, but it seemed they were open to all music.


Reply [edit]

Poster: Lokomotiv2 Date: Mar 30, 2019 5:28pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

Jerry didn't seem to care much for rap. Though as per usual with Jerry, he didn't have a problem with it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1RaBdSCjAY

Reply [edit]

Poster: Diamondhead Date: Mar 29, 2019 5:21pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

Even disco. :)

Reply [edit]

Poster: Reade Date: Mar 30, 2019 2:13pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

Dmitri was quite a useless music writer.

Reply [edit]

Poster: bate95 Date: Apr 5, 2019 7:11pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

great from martin

Reply [edit]

Poster: bate95 Date: Apr 5, 2019 7:13pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

fhghgg

Attachment: avatar.png

Reply [edit]

Poster: Mark Scalise Date: Mar 29, 2019 7:00am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

Jeez, JG was already a "fat old hippie" in 1977?

Reply [edit]

Poster: Dave Davis Date: Mar 29, 2019 7:35am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

I saw the Dead three times in Nov 1977 near Buffalo in upstate NY and they were the peak of Jerry that I saw from 1975-1994

Reply [edit]

Poster: Diamondhead Date: Mar 29, 2019 12:10pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

Even at his best JG never did the rock look. I bet Jerry did as many pushups in his life as Trump has told the truth.

Reply [edit]

Poster: Lou Davenport Date: Mar 29, 2019 7:43am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

Haven't there in fact been many assinations of major rock performers?

Reply [edit]

Poster: Dudley Dead Date: Mar 29, 2019 11:55am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

It Is no surprise, how unresponsive critics were to even the most resplendent Dead music . It seems it was you either got it or you didn't. The concert at the Forum in 1977 was maybe the best dead show I ever saw. Years later I talked to a friend who wasn't a Head and had gone to the same show, but told me he was bored (!) It seemed to be worse with Garcias bands. I know two cases, where deadheads took friends of mine to see the Garcia and they were not impressed.Just didn't click . I think you should already have had the Kool-Aid (see the Dead) before you saw the Garcia band, my opinion .
I enjoyed the comeback letters, but I must say, that the last guy made me cringe a little, by referring to "How Sweet it Is" as a James Taylor song (it is a Marvin Gaye cover) and "Dixie Down" as a Joan Baez song (a Band cover). I can just see the critic, if he read those letters, smirking, and thinking " those stupid Deadheads ." But generally the critic deserved a kick in the ass . I never liked reviews where the critic was more into mocking the music and the fans, then telling you what it was like . They would go to great efforts to show how snarky and clever they were, but not tell you what it sounded like. It is okay to have an opinion but let the reader know what the event, album, film, etc. was like before sounding off .Reporting before editorializing .
Also the Garcia quote "I've seen what has happened to musicians who constantly do drugs and alcohol along with heavy touring - they burn themselves out" . How sad that sort of became him .
Oh, and thanks for the post .

Reply [edit]

Poster: high flow Date: Mar 29, 2019 12:17pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

Ray said you always gotta remember what the name of the game is...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4YRJ7p9bSuw

Reply [edit]

Poster: Dudley Dead Date: Mar 29, 2019 12:28pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

Better than I could EVER say . Thank you !

Reply [edit]

Poster: Dave Davis Date: Mar 29, 2019 2:19pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: After a Horrible Review of the Show, JGB Fans Strike Back in Buffalo 11-30-1977

In honor of how fuckin awesome Jerry's bands and the Eel release are here are 11 songs that total 4 hours and 30 minutes http://www.gratefulseconds.com/2019/03/to-honor-release-of-eel-heres-11-jerry.html
After Midnight 2-2-80 Stone
Lonesome 4-3-76 Lisner GW University
Not Fade Away 7-9-1977 Asbury Park
Mystery Train 12-31-75 Keystone
La La 9-1-74 Keystone
Are You Lonely 1-17-74 Keystone
My Funny Valentine 10-12-73 Keystone
Merl's Tune 7-5-73 The Lion's Share
The System 1-25-73 Boarding House
Man Child 1-15-72 Keystone Korner
Don't let go 2-19-78 Civic Auditorium